Regatta Review #176

Friday, September 28, 2012

The 2012 DRRA Volunteer Awards

Congratulations to all the volunteer award winners!

All our volunteers do such a great job that it must be hard to choose the winners.  These volunteers are among the best:

Jack Love Award - Jim and Carol Verkennis

President's Cup Award - Gary "Fuzzy" Holleran

Chairman's Choice Awards -
Kathy Adamski, Pat Cooley, Lee Dopke, Jim Garza, Karen "72" Peters, Daryn Rollins, Joe Wortman, Bob Zola

San Diego Results

While Steve David crossed the finish line first in the Oh Boy Oberto, he was disqualified for a flagrant fuel violation. This made Jimmy Shane the winner of his second race this year! Way to go Jimmy!

A full race report can be found here:

U-11 Peters And May To Run At Coniston

Southampton, UK -- Since 1970, England has hosted an annual powerboat speed week as a finale to the race season, and this year two entries from the United States will be making history, vying for the record books, and thrilling race fans thanks to global boat transport leader Peters & May.

The Unlimited Racing Group's "U-11 Peters & May" will make history as the first-ever Unlimited Hydroplane entry at Coniston, and will set a UK National Speed Record for the class piloted by co-owner JW Myers.

URG's Aaron Salmon, at 20 years of age, will be helming the R102 trying to break the O350 world record of 113.25 mph (182.5 km/h) set in 1995 by American Sean Livingston.

The full story:

Some Sad News

DRRA volunteer Al Dubish passed away on 9/25 at the age of 54.

Al was a five-year volunteer working security at Judges Stand.

Volunteer Kathy Pauli is taking up a collection to help with burial costs, if you'd like to donate please contact us.

Share this page